Crockpot Pumpkin Butter

I love all things pumpkin! I wish it was more acceptable to eat it year round, but since it’s not I try to squeeze in as many pumpkin recipes during the fall season as I can. A couple weeks ago I made this crock pot Pumpkin Butter and stocked up the extra in my freezer (and shared some with family). It’s so delicious on toast or with vanilla ice cream!! I also have a couple recipes I plan to bake that call for pumpkin butter and I can’t wait to make them!

This recipe is very straight forward. You add all the ingredients to your crock pot and you let it cook! This is not a canning recipe, as it is not safe to can pumpkin or squash in a home setting. However, you can store it in jars, containers, or ziplock bags and freeze it. Just thaw it in there fridge or on the counter when you want to use it. This Pumpkin Butter tastes creamy and full of all the fall spices. It’s like a spreadable pumpkin pie!

Crock Pot Pumpkin Butter

Makes 16 4-ounce (quarter pint) jars

Ingredients

1 29-ounce can of pumpkin purée + 1 12-ounce can of pumpkin purée

2 1/2 cups brown sugar

2 cups apple juice or apple cider

1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

Pinch of salt

Directions

1. Add all ingredients to a crock pot and stir to combine. Put the lid on and cook on low for 5 hours, stirring once at the halfway point.

2. After five hours, enjoy on toast or over ice cream! Pumpkin Butter can be refrigerated or put it in the freezer to store if you won’t use it all within 1-2 weeks.

Original recipe here.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a comment